Need help with getting a new camera

Casey

So, as the title says, I am looking to get a new camera. I plan on spending around ~800 USD and I want to get something powerful. Keep in mind that i am brand new to photography, but I am legitimately interested in it and I have no problem learning how to use any kind of camera, no matter how confusing it could be.

I know next to nothing about photography, nor do I know much about cameras. I want to make this clear, this thread is not me asking what camera is good. While I have no problem taking suggestions into consideration, I was hoping to get some people with experience in here. I want to learn, and having someone choose my camera for me is not a good way to start.

So I propose this, I have some questions about the specs of a camera, and what they are used for. Feel free to jump in and help out, and if you want to talk about anything else regarding cameras, or some hints/tips/tricks, then please feel free to. Just assume I know absolutely nothing about cameras, and we can move from there.

My first questions are as follows:

-What does the lens measurement mean, and how does that affect the zoom and anything else it could affect. Also, I noticed then looking at cameras, they give something like this:

18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 or 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Standard Zoom

What are the numbers after the lens measurement, and what is "standard zoom"

- What is CMOS?

-DX-Format, F-X Format, 1-2 Format; what is the format.

-What does an image processor do for the picture?

-Is there a good brand out there, as all I have ever heard of for good DSLR cameras involve Nikon and Canon. Those are the two I an considering. Is there anything that stands out about those two brands?

If you think of anything else, or feel the need to share some advice about camera functions, tips for taking good pictures, etc, then feel free to add it.

Thanks for any advice you might give.