• You're viewing the Team9000 Archives. These old threads are closed to new comments, but if something interests you or you have a question, feel free to open a new thread in the main forums.

Sacred Fires and Flying Frying Pans- How Fae Spent the Weekend

FaerieInCombatBoots

Recently, I mentioned that I'd be writing about overcoming one of my fears. Well, I didn't do that. I totally chickened out. To make up for going back on my word, I want to tell you guys about the amazing weekend I had.
As it mentions on my profile, I am a Native American drummer. I sing and drum and powwows, Native Gatherings and once at the JFK Library in Boston. I don't make any money from it, the pay-off is entirely spiritual. So I had a powwow this weekend, in Mason NH, right across from Parker's Sugar Barn.
Powwows are important to Native Americans because they are our way of honoring and celebrating who we are, where we came from and where we're going. We do our traditional dances, we sing our songs and we have a damn good time. In the old days, as they are now, it was a way to meet up with old friends, make new ones, and learn from other. A powwow is also highly sacred. Like Catholics going to church, or Jews to synagogues, going to a powwow is a spiritual experience for those of us who follow the old ways. In the center of the circle where we dance, we keep a very special fire, that must stay burning throughout the powwow.
This weekend, I was accorded the special honor of helping light this sacred fire. This was my first time doing such a thing. My duty was to be the 'balance'. Since the person lighting the fire was a man, the person holding the log laden with sacred plants (tobacco, sage and cedar, to name a few) has to be a woman. A non-menstruating woman, because it is an old tradition that women on their periods stay out of special ceremonies, solely because it is believed that women are too powerful during this time of the month.